KL Rahul Sent Back; Shreyas Iyer Returns From Pavillion After Sean Abbott's Catch Sparks Controversy | Watch

September 25,2023

In a reminder of the disallowed Mitchell Starc catch in the 2023 Ashes at Lord's, a catch from Australian pacer Sean Abbott sparked controversy in the second ODI against India at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore on Sunday (September 24).

The incident happened just after Shreyas Iyer completed his century. Struggling with pain in his arm, Shreyas was outfoxed by Abbott, who took a sensational diving catch from his own bowling. Most people on the ground were sure that it was out, including the batter himself, who walked back to the dressing room. Indian stand-in captain KL Rahul was out in the middle and ready to bat.

However, the on-field umpires were not sure about the catch. This led to the decision being referred to the third umpire. While Abbott looked in control of the catch, the ball did rub the ground in the process of the catch being completed. Hence, the third umpire decided to give the decision not-out, which meant that Rahul had returned to the dressing room while Iyer had returned.

However, Iyer failed to make the most of his second life, as he just added four more runs to his tally. Abbott got Iyer's wicket in the same over after a brilliant knock of 105 in 90 balls. This was Iyer's third ODI century in his career and one with great significance, with doubts revolving around his World Cup place after a long injury absence.

Iyer put up a massive partnership of 200 runs with Gill to put India on stage for a score close to the 400-run mark. Gill scored the sixth ODI century of his career to continue his golden run of form in 2023.

India are looking to seal a series victory after winning the first ODI by five wickets at the PCA Stadium in Mohali on Friday (September 22).